Thanksgiving Spirit in Albania

I never thought I would be celebrating Thanksgiving in Albania, much less with twenty five other Americans. But that is exactly how I found myself spending the wonderfully delicious holiday this year. My semi-sitemates decided to host the feast at their house and so we began to search for a turkey. My favorite Albanian, Gergi, called around to the villages. Unfortunately, we couldn’t find a turkey to buy. Defeated, we all began planning a meal centered around chickens. Not very festive. However, Miranda, a fellow volunteer, swooped in to save the day. She was not going to take no for an answer, which is how she found herself hitchhiking three hours with a live bird. Only in Albania folks, only in Albania.

Their driver knew a Turkey guy.

Their driver knew a Turkey guy.

If one is wondering how to best travel with a live bird. Simply cut a whole in a sack.

If one is wondering how to best travel with a live bird. Simply cut a whole in a sack.

Miranda saves the day.

Miranda saves the day.

The rest of the day was spent cooking, eating, cooking and eating. The only way one should spend Thanksgiving.

On the way!

On the way!

Marinating

Marinating

IMG_0989 IMG_0991 IMG_0993 IMG_0996 IMG_1003DSC06151

 

My Peace Corps service is slowly coming to a close. An accomplishment that I am truly proud of. The experiences I have had are just one factor in this equation. This holiday season is a small reminder that the friends I have met along the way are just as, if not more, important. Despite the lack of indoor heating, hot water and reliable electricity, I will be the first to admit, I have plenty to be thankful for this November!

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Spirit in Albania

Leave a comment